Ostara 2017

Ostara is the Spring Equinox which falls on March 19 this year. It is a time of fertility and to celebrate new growth. Newborn animals are experiencing their first break from winter. The Goddess is now a young maiden who is marrying the young Sun God. 

Ostara is always a favorable time for me. I enjoy winter and all it has to offer nature, but Ostara is the harbinger of spring. I love the daytime so this time of year signifies the transition from the dark winter to a brighter spring time. 

Typically for Ostara I wake at sunrise and meditate while the day welcomes the sun. After meditation I set up my altar in reflection of the blessed day. First I cast my circle. This allows me to purify my space and the objects I will be using. I always burn a yellow candle to reflect the coming spring, and I lay out some lemon halves for a light scent. Lastly I use soft downy feathers that remind me of the new birds. I thank the Goddess for the coming spring and the new growth forming outside. 

To complete my ritual, I close my circle and thank each piece for its participation. Please leave me a comment with any questions you may have. I always would like to know how you are celebrating Ostara. I enjoy different traditions and rituals. 

Blessed be.

13900208_10206898357121613_6935429372737276468_n

Leave a Reply

